STATE REFERENCE · HVAC LICENSING & CONTRACTS
Indiana: HVAC contractor licensing, reciprocity and contract rules.
In Indiana, HVAC licence: Local only — no statewide HVAC licence appears on the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's professions list… Residential contracts: Indiana Home Improvement Contracts Act, IC 24-5-11. Renewal and CE: No state HVAC licence; renewal cycles and continuing education, where required, are set by city or county programmes. Verified 2026-10-14; cites: IC 24-5-11 (Home Improvement Contracts Act); IC 24-5-11-10(a), -10(a)(10), -10(a)(11); IC 24-5-11-11 and others.
This page lists what Indiana publishes about licensing an HVAC or mechanical contractor and contracting with homeowners: who issues the licence, whether one is required statewide, the classes and qualifications, insurance or bond minimums, reciprocity with other states, renewal and continuing education, and the state's home-improvement contract statute if it has one.
It is built for owners of residential HVAC companies, especially those hiring across a state line or opening a second territory. Every entry is a snapshot of what the cited source published on the verification date; it is a research starting point, not legal advice.
Indiana, field by field.
- Contractor licensing authority
- No state agency licenses HVAC or mechanical contractors. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's list of licensed professions (41 entries) contains no HVAC, mechanical-contractor or general-contractor profession; Plumbing is the only construction trade listed (Title 25, Article 28.5). The Indiana Attorney General's consumer brochure “Double Check Before You Write a Check” states: “Licensing requirements vary from community to community. Check with your city or county building department to determine the licensing requirements for your area and if the contractor you are considering is properly licensed, bonded and insured.” The Indiana Department of Homeland Security's Fire and Building Safety pages say nothing about contractor licensing.
- HVAC licence required
- Local only — no statewide HVAC licence appears on the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's professions list, and the Attorney General's brochure states that “Licensing requirements vary from community to community” and directs readers to “your city or county building department”; any HVAC licence, examination or bond is set by the city or county where the work is performed. Example read on an official local page: the City of South Bend's HVAC Contractor licence application (southbendin.gov, 2026) states that an HVAC Contractor's License “may be issued to a person who is principally engaged in the business of heating, air conditioning, and/or ventilating contracting” and requires documentation of “scoring at least a 70% on an accepted exam”, a $5,000 surety bond, a $50 non-refundable application fee and a $125 annual fee.
- Licence classes & qualifications
- No state licence class exists; city and county programmes set their own classes, examinations and experience rules. The one local programme read (City of South Bend application form) licenses an “HVAC Contractor” — the holder and his or her employees may perform heating, air conditioning and ventilating contracting — on proof of a score of at least 70% on an accepted examination, with the bond principal's name matching the name used to take the examination. Other cities and counties set their own rules; no ordinance text was read.
- Insurance / bond minimum
- No state HVAC licence and no state bond or insurance minimum; amounts, where required, are set by city or county programmes. Local example (City of South Bend application form): an original surety bond of $5,000 for a one-year term, naming the City of South Bend/St. Joseph County as obligee and indicating “HVAC CONTRACTOR”, with a continuation certificate at each annual renewal.
- Reciprocity
- Not stated — no state board exists to publish HVAC reciprocity; recognition of another city's or county's licence is a matter for each local programme and was not read on an official page.
- Renewal & continuing education
- No state HVAC licence; renewal cycles and continuing education, where required, are set by city or county programmes. Local example (City of South Bend application form): $125 annual fee with a renewal application and bond continuation certificate; a licence expired more than one year requires a new application, fee, current bond continuation certificate and all missed annual fees. No continuing-education requirement appears on the South Bend form.
- Home-improvement contract rule
- Indiana Home Improvement Contracts Act, IC 24-5-11. The Attorney General's brochure states: “Get a written contract. Indiana law requires home improvement contracts exceeding $150 to be in writing,” and lists the contract contents to check (price, payment schedule, detailed description of work and materials, estimated start and completion dates, the contractor's name and address, a contact name and telephone number, and the contractor's signature); it also advises “Do not pay more than 1/3 of the total cost as a down payment” — guidance, as no statutory deposit cap was located on an official page. The Indiana Court of Appeals summary of Balash v. Mader, No. 24A-SC-792 (Ind. Ct. App. Oct. 8, 2024), published on caseclips.courts.in.gov, states that IC 24-5-11-10(a) requires the supplier to “provide a completed real property improvement contract” to the consumer before the consumer signs it, that IC 24-5-11-10(a)(10) “specifically and unambiguously requires that a real property improvement contract be in writing” (quoting Logan v. Evans), that IC 24-5-11-10(a)(11) requires “Signature lines for the real property improvement supplier or the supplier's agent” and for each consumer, that IC 24-5-11-11 requires the supplier to agree by “written signature” before the consumer signs, and that IC 24-5-11-12 requires the supplier to give the consumer a “fully executed copy” “immediately after the consumer signs it”; the court held that because the contractor never provided a written, signed contract he could not enforce the oral agreement against the consumers, and vacated his damages award. No state right-to-cancel window beyond the federal three-day rule was located on an official page. The statute text itself could not be read: iga.in.gov serves only a JavaScript application shell to non-browser clients (re-tried 2026-10-14 on five URL forms).
Download Indiana's row (CSV) · all 51 states (CSV) · CC BY 4.0, attribute Vertical OS and link to this page.
Where this comes from.
Cited. IC 24-5-11 (Home Improvement Contracts Act); IC 24-5-11-10(a), -10(a)(10), -10(a)(11); IC 24-5-11-11; IC 24-5-11-12 (each as quoted in the Indiana Court of Appeals summary of Balash v. Mader, No. 24A-SC-792, Oct. 8, 2024; statute text not read — iga.in.gov unreachable to automated clients on 2026-10-14); IC 25-28.5 (Plumbers — the only state-licensed construction trade on the PLA professions page); City of South Bend HVAC Contractor licence requirements (application form, southbendin.gov, 2026 — local example only)
Status. Partially verified — some rules cited, last verified 2026-10-14. Start with the licensing authority link — it is the primary source. The licence-required and home-improvement-contract rows decide what you can sign and sell, so read both against the cited statute before changing a contract or a service area. The verification status says how much of the row was read at the source.
What to confirm.
Confirm with the city or county building department where work will be performed whether a local heating/cooling contractor licence, examination, bond or insurance is required (the Attorney General states these vary by community; South Bend's $5,000 bond, 70% examination and $125 annual fee are one local example read from an application form, not from the ordinance). Confirm the current text of IC 24-5-11-10 through -12 directly on iga.in.gov in a browser — the site could not be read by automated clients on 2026-10-14, so the statutory language above rests on the Court of Appeals summary and the Attorney General's brochure.
Indiana, answered from the row.
Does Indiana require a state licence for HVAC contractors?
Local only — no statewide HVAC licence appears on the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's professions list, and the Attorney General's brochure states that “Licensing requirements vary from community to community” and directs readers to “your city or county building department”; any HVAC licence, examination or bond is set by the city or county where the work is performed. Example read on an official local page: the City of South Bend's HVAC Contractor licence application (southbendin.gov, 2026) states that an HVAC Contractor's License “may be issued to a person who is principally engaged in the business of heating, air conditioning, and/or ventilating contracting” and requires documentation of “scoring at least a 70% on an accepted exam”, a $5,000 surety bond, a $50 non-refundable application fee and a $125 annual fee. — No state agency licenses HVAC or mechanical contractors. The Indiana Professional Licensing Agency's list of licensed professions (41 entries) contains no HVAC, mechanical-contractor or general-contractor profession; Plumbing is the only construction trade listed (Title 25, Article 28.5). The Indiana Attorney General's consumer brochure “Double Check Before You Write a Check” states: “Licensing requirements vary from community to community. Check with your city or county building department to determine the licensing requirements for your area and if the contractor you are considering is properly licensed, bonded and insured.” The Indiana Department of Homeland Security's Fire and Building Safety pages say nothing about contractor licensing.
What are the HVAC licence classes and qualifications in Indiana?
No state licence class exists; city and county programmes set their own classes, examinations and experience rules. The one local programme read (City of South Bend application form) licenses an “HVAC Contractor” — the holder and his or her employees may perform heating, air conditioning and ventilating contracting — on proof of a score of at least 70% on an accepted examination, with the bond principal's name matching the name used to take the examination. Other cities and counties set their own rules; no ordinance text was read.
What insurance or bond does Indiana require for an HVAC licence?
No state HVAC licence and no state bond or insurance minimum; amounts, where required, are set by city or county programmes. Local example (City of South Bend application form): an original surety bond of $5,000 for a one-year term, naming the City of South Bend/St. Joseph County as obligee and indicating “HVAC CONTRACTOR”, with a continuation certificate at each annual renewal.
Does Indiana have HVAC licence reciprocity with other states?
Not stated — no state board exists to publish HVAC reciprocity; recognition of another city's or county's licence is a matter for each local programme and was not read on an official page.
How often is an HVAC licence renewed in Indiana, and is continuing education required?
No state HVAC licence; renewal cycles and continuing education, where required, are set by city or county programmes. Local example (City of South Bend application form): $125 annual fee with a renewal application and bond continuation certificate; a licence expired more than one year requires a new application, fee, current bond continuation certificate and all missed annual fees. No continuing-education requirement appears on the South Bend form.
What does Indiana require in a residential HVAC contract?
Indiana Home Improvement Contracts Act, IC 24-5-11. The Attorney General's brochure states: “Get a written contract. Indiana law requires home improvement contracts exceeding $150 to be in writing,” and lists the contract contents to check (price, payment schedule, detailed description of work and materials, estimated start and completion dates, the contractor's name and address, a contact name and telephone number, and the contractor's signature); it also advises “Do not pay more than 1/3 of the total cost as a down payment” — guidance, as no statutory deposit cap was located on an official page. The Indiana Court of Appeals summary of Balash v. Mader, No. 24A-SC-792 (Ind. Ct. App. Oct. 8, 2024), published on caseclips.courts.in.gov, states that IC 24-5-11-10(a) requires the supplier to “provide a completed real property improvement contract” to the consumer before the consumer signs it, that IC 24-5-11-10(a)(10) “specifically and unambiguously requires that a real property improvement contract be in writing” (quoting Logan v. Evans), that IC 24-5-11-10(a)(11) requires “Signature lines for the real property improvement supplier or the supplier's agent” and for each consumer, that IC 24-5-11-11 requires the supplier to agree by “written signature” before the consumer signs, and that IC 24-5-11-12 requires the supplier to give the consumer a “fully executed copy” “immediately after the consumer signs it”; the court held that because the contractor never provided a written, signed contract he could not enforce the oral agreement against the consumers, and vacated his damages award. No state right-to-cancel window beyond the federal three-day rule was located on an official page. The statute text itself could not be read: iga.in.gov serves only a JavaScript application shell to non-browser clients (re-tried 2026-10-14 on five URL forms).
Not legal advice. Every row is a dated snapshot of published sources; licensing rules and contract statutes change, and cities and counties add their own permit and licence requirements. Confirm every entry with the named authority and your own counsel before relying on it.
This table is free, open data.
Every row is CC BY 4.0: download the CSV, embed the lookup, or cite the page. It is not part of HVAC OS; the product is the system around work like this — a Notion workspace, working automations and Claude skills for the owner-side work your software doesn't do.
Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.
A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete HVAC OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.
SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY