VERTICAL·OS░HVAC MODULE░STATES · PENNSYLVANIA
GET HVAC OS →

STATE REFERENCE · HVAC LICENSING & CONTRACTS

Pennsylvania: HVAC contractor licensing, reciprocity and contract rules.

In Pennsylvania, HVAC licence: Statewide (registration only) — HICPA §3(a): "No person shall hold himself out as a contractor, nor shall a person perform any home improvement without first registering…" Residential contracts: HICPA §7(a): "No home improvement contract shall be valid or enforceable against an owner unless it" is in writing and legible with the contractor's registration number. Renewal and CE: Registration valid two years, renewed biennially (HICPA §5(a): "Renewals shall be on a biennial basis"; AG FAQ: registrations "are valid for two years, and must be…"). Verified 2026-10-14; cites: 73 P.S. §517.1 et seq. (Act 132 of 2008, as amended by Act 52 of 2011 and Act 160 of 2014): §2; §3(a) and others.

VerificationVerified — cited· last verified 2026-10-14
[ 01 ]WHAT THIS PAGE ISSCOPE

This page lists what Pennsylvania publishes about licensing an HVAC or mechanical contractor and contracting with homeowners: who issues the licence, whether one is required statewide, the classes and qualifications, insurance or bond minimums, reciprocity with other states, renewal and continuing education, and the state's home-improvement contract statute if it has one.

It is built for owners of residential HVAC companies, especially those hiring across a state line or opening a second territory. Every entry is a snapshot of what the cited source published on the verification date; it is a research starting point, not legal advice.

[ 02 ]THE STATE RULEDATASHEET

Pennsylvania, field by field.

Contractor licensing authority
The Pennsylvania Department of State's Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs lists 29 licensing boards and commissions (Accountancy through Veterinary Medicine); none is for HVAC, mechanical, heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or construction contractors (Crane Operators is the only construction-related board). The statewide requirement for residential work is home-improvement contractor registration with the Office of Attorney General, Bureau of Consumer Protection, under the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (HICPA), 73 P.S. §517.1 et seq. (Act 132 of 2008, effective July 1, 2009). HICPA §12: "Registration under this act shall preclude any requirement of payment of a fee or registration or licensing of any home improvement contractor by any political subdivision", while "This provision does not affect existing licensing standards in effect on the effective date of this act, with respect to electricians and plumbers and other trades, where licensing is conditioned on requirements of testing or possession of certificates obtained through specific training in electricity or plumbing or other trades."
HVAC licence required
Statewide (registration only) — HICPA §3(a): "No person shall hold himself out as a contractor, nor shall a person perform any home improvement without first registering with the bureau". "Home improvement" covers work on a private residence "for which the total cash price of all work agreed upon between the contractor and owner is more than $500" and includes, "Without regard to affixation, the installation of central heating, air conditioning, storm windows or awnings" (§2); it does not include "The construction of a new home", the sale of services "furnished for commercial or business use or for resale, if the service takes place somewhere other than at a private residence", the sale of appliances "including stoves, refrigerators, freezers, room air conditioners and others which are designed for and are easily removable from the premises without material alteration", or emergency work under section 7 of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law (§2). "Contractor" includes a subcontractor or independent contractor working for a home improvement retailer regardless of the retailer's net worth, and excludes "A person for whom the total cash value of all of that person's home improvements is less than $5,000 during the previous taxable year" and a home improvement retailer with a net worth of more than $50,000,000 or its employee who does not perform home improvements (§2). On a state HVAC trade licence the official pages read show the following: the Department of State's board list contains no HVAC, mechanical or contractor board; the Attorney General FAQ states "Political subdivisions in Pennsylvania cannot separately license or register home improvement contractors after July 1, 2009" except under licensing standards in effect on that date "with respect to electricians, plumbers and other trades" conditioned on testing or certificates (HICPA §12); the City of Pittsburgh issues a Mechanical/HVAC trade licence to individuals for work to "install, erect, enlarge, repair, alter, remove, convert, or replace any mechanical system within the City of Pittsburgh" (ICC examination, four years of combined experience and education, annual renewal with eight CEUs).
Licence classes & qualifications
No licence classes, examination or experience requirement: HICPA §4(a) registration requires an application with identity and business details, all prior home-improvement business names and addresses for the previous ten years (§4(a)(2)), disclosure of convictions for home-improvement, fraud, theft or deception offences, bankruptcy petitions and home-improvement civil judgments within ten years (§4(a)(1)(vii)), suspensions or debarments from public home-improvement programs (§4(a)(1)(viii)), out-of-state registrations or licences (§4(a)(1)(iv), §4(b)), and proof of insurance (§4(a)(1)(ix)); the Attorney General states "Registration under HICPA is not an endorsement, recommendation or approval by the Office of Attorney General" of competency or skill; "subcontractors who perform home improvements must register even if they do not enter agreements directly with consumers" (AG FAQ). Fee: the Act 132 text at §5(a) reads "a fee of $50" with "Renewals shall be on a biennial basis"; the Attorney General states "the registration fee has been increased to $100 every two years" citing 72 P.S. §1603-U — Fiscal Code §1603-U, added by Act 45 of 2025 (HB 416, approved November 12, 2025, effective immediately), provides "Notwithstanding section 5(a)" of HICPA, the application or renewal fee "shall be $100. This section shall not apply on or after December 31, 2027"; the PA-HICRS portal states "Registration costs $100 every two years." Registration information must be updated within 30 days of any change, without fee (§4(c)). The registration number must appear "in all advertisements distributed within this Commonwealth and on all contracts, estimates and proposals with owners in this Commonwealth" (§6).
Insurance / bond minimum
HICPA §4(a)(1)(ix): "Proof of liability insurance covering personal injury in an amount not less than $50,000 and insurance covering property damage caused by the work of a home improvement contractor in an amount not less than $50,000"; proof "may include information attested to by an applicant that the applicant is self-insured"; the contract must agree to maintain the same minimums and identify "the current amount of insurance coverage maintained at the time of signing the contract" (§7(a)(11)); PA-HICRS portal: "At least $50,000 personal injury coverage" and "At least $50,000 property damage coverage". No bond requirement in the Act (the only security instrument is the optional $100,000-per-store letter of credit a home improvement retailer may post under §9(10)(ii)).
Reciprocity
Not stated in this pass — HICPA contains no reciprocity provision; §4(b) requires a contractor "registered or licensed as a home improvement contractor in any other state, or political subdivision thereof" to report that registration and any disciplinary action on the initial and biennial applications.
Renewal & continuing education
Registration valid two years, renewed biennially (HICPA §5(a): "Renewals shall be on a biennial basis"; AG FAQ: registrations "are valid for two years, and must be renewed biennially"; portal: "$100 every two years"). No continuing-education requirement appears in HICPA or on the Attorney General pages read.
Home-improvement contract rule
HICPA §7(a): "No home improvement contract shall be valid or enforceable against an owner unless it" is in writing and legible with the contractor's registration number; is signed by the owner and the contractor or salesperson; contains the entire agreement with attached copies of all required notices; the transaction date; the contractor's name, address and telephone number ("a post office box number alone shall not be considered an address"); approximate starting and completion dates; a description of the work, materials and specifications "that cannot be changed without a written change order signed by the owner and the contractor"; the total sales price or a time-and-materials provision with a written initial cost estimate that "may not exceed 10% above the dollar value indicated in the initial cost estimate" without a signed change order; the down payment and special-order-material amounts listed separately; names, addresses and telephone numbers of known subcontractors; the $50,000/$50,000 insurance statement; the bureau's toll-free number; and a notice of the right of rescission. §7(b): the individual signing "shall be permitted to rescind the contract without penalty regardless of where the contract was signed, within three business days of the date of signing" (except emergency work under section 7 of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law); §7(c): a completed copy is delivered at signing without charge; §7(d): an arbitration clause must be in capital letters, 12-point boldface on a separate page with separate signature lines and the stated disclosures or is void on motion; §7(e): the contract is voidable by the owner if it contains a hold-harmless clause, a waiver of code requirements, a confession of judgment, a jury-trial waiver, a wage assignment, a waiver of claims or defenses, a contractor attorney-fee award, a release of collection or repossession liability, a waiver of rights under the Act, or an automatic-renewal provision without the stated opt-out procedure. Prohibited acts, §9: "(9) Demand or receive any payment for a home improvement before the home improvement contract is signed"; (10) for a contract "in which the total price is more than $5,000, receive a deposit in excess of" "one-third of the home improvement contract price" or "one-third of the home improvement contract price plus the cost of special order materials that will be ordered, as designated in the written contract" (a home improvement retailer posting a letter of credit is exempt); (2) refund within ten days of a certified-mail request when no substantial portion of the work has been performed and more than 45 days have elapsed since the written start date; (5) abandon or fail to perform a contract without justification; (6) deviate from plans or specifications in any material respect without a signed, dated written change order with price changes. §8: home improvement fraud is a felony of the third degree where the amount involved exceeds $2,000 and a misdemeanor of the first degree otherwise, one grade higher where the victim is 60 or older, and a felony of the second degree for a second or subsequent offence; §10: a violation of the Act "shall be deemed a violation" of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law.
[ 03 ]SOURCES & VERIFICATIONPRIMARY

Download Pennsylvania's row (CSV) · all 51 states (CSV) · CC BY 4.0, attribute Vertical OS and link to this page.

Where this comes from.

Regulator. The Pennsylvania Department of State's Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs lists 29 licensing boards and commissions (Accountancy through Veterinary Medicine); none is for HVAC, mechanical, heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or construction contractors (Crane Operators is the only construction-related board). The statewide requirement for residential work is home-improvement contractor registration with the Office of Attorney General, Bureau of Consumer Protection, under the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (HICPA), 73 P.S. §517.1 et seq. (Act 132 of 2008, effective July 1, 2009). HICPA §12: "Registration under this act shall preclude any requirement of payment of a fee or registration or licensing of any home improvement contractor by any political subdivision", while "This provision does not affect existing licensing standards in effect on the effective date of this act, with respect to electricians and plumbers and other trades, where licensing is conditioned on requirements of testing or possession of certificates obtained through specific training in electricity or plumbing or other trades."

Cited. 73 P.S. §517.1 et seq. (Act 132 of 2008, as amended by Act 52 of 2011 and Act 160 of 2014): §2; §3(a); §4(a)(1)(iv), (vii)-(ix), (a)(2), (b), (c); §5(a); §6; §7(a)-(e); §8; §9(2), (5), (6), (9), (10); §10; §12; §19; 72 P.S. §1603-U (Fiscal Code, added by Act 45 of 2025, §14 — $100 registration fee, not applicable on or after December 31, 2027)

Status. Verified — cited, last verified 2026-10-14. Start with the licensing authority link — it is the primary source. The licence-required and home-improvement-contract rows decide what you can sign and sell, so read both against the cited statute before changing a contract or a service area. The verification status says how much of the row was read at the source.

[ 04 ]BEFORE YOU RELY ON ITCONFIRM

What to confirm.

Fee discrepancy: the Attorney General page and the PA-HICRS portal state $100 every two years (citing 72 P.S. §1603-U), while the Act 132 text at §5(a) (palegis.us) reads $50 and the Attorney General FAQ lists both $100 and $50; the Fiscal Code §1603-U added by Act 45 of 2025 sets $100 "Notwithstanding section 5(a)" and "shall not apply on or after December 31, 2027" — confirm the fee at renewal after that date. Pending bills amending HICPA listed on palegis.us, none enacted as of 2026-10-14: SB 1324 (definitions, registration, fees, contracts and fraud — reported from committee May 6, 2026; laid on the table June 25, 2026), SB 540 (registration procedures — referred April 4, 2025), HB 1148 (definitions and fraud — referred April 4, 2025), HB 1928 (definitions and fraud — referred October 7, 2025), HB 2016 (home improvement contracts — referred November 6, 2025). Confirm with the municipality whether a pre-2009 local trade licence applies to HVAC work under HICPA §12's carve-out (the City of Pittsburgh issues a Mechanical/HVAC trade licence). The Attorney General page notes a registration grace period ending June 8, 2026 for contractors who did not submit a paper application after the office's August 8, 2025 system outage. Two Attorney General URLs cited by the researcher (https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/?p=6380 and https://www.attorneygeneral.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/HICPA-instructions.pdf) returned HTTP 404 on 2026-10-14; no field relies on them.

[ 05 ]FREQUENTLY ASKEDFAQ

Pennsylvania, answered from the row.

Does Pennsylvania require a state licence for HVAC contractors?

Statewide (registration only) — HICPA §3(a): "No person shall hold himself out as a contractor, nor shall a person perform any home improvement without first registering with the bureau". "Home improvement" covers work on a private residence "for which the total cash price of all work agreed upon between the contractor and owner is more than $500" and includes, "Without regard to affixation, the installation of central heating, air conditioning, storm windows or awnings" (§2); it does not include "The construction of a new home", the sale of services "furnished for commercial or business use or for resale, if the service takes place somewhere other than at a private residence", the sale of appliances "including stoves, refrigerators, freezers, room air conditioners and others which are designed for and are easily removable from the premises without material alteration", or emergency work under section 7 of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law (§2). "Contractor" includes a subcontractor or independent contractor working for a home improvement retailer regardless of the retailer's net worth, and excludes "A person for whom the total cash value of all of that person's home improvements is less than $5,000 during the previous taxable year" and a home improvement retailer with a net worth of more than $50,000,000 or its employee who does not perform home improvements (§2). On a state HVAC trade licence the official pages read show the following: the Department of State's board list contains no HVAC, mechanical or contractor board; the Attorney General FAQ states "Political subdivisions in Pennsylvania cannot separately license or register home improvement contractors after July 1, 2009" except under licensing standards in effect on that date "with respect to electricians, plumbers and other trades" conditioned on testing or certificates (HICPA §12); the City of Pittsburgh issues a Mechanical/HVAC trade licence to individuals for work to "install, erect, enlarge, repair, alter, remove, convert, or replace any mechanical system within the City of Pittsburgh" (ICC examination, four years of combined experience and education, annual renewal with eight CEUs). — The Pennsylvania Department of State's Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs lists 29 licensing boards and commissions (Accountancy through Veterinary Medicine); none is for HVAC, mechanical, heating, air conditioning, refrigeration or construction contractors (Crane Operators is the only construction-related board). The statewide requirement for residential work is home-improvement contractor registration with the Office of Attorney General, Bureau of Consumer Protection, under the Home Improvement Consumer Protection Act (HICPA), 73 P.S. §517.1 et seq. (Act 132 of 2008, effective July 1, 2009). HICPA §12: "Registration under this act shall preclude any requirement of payment of a fee or registration or licensing of any home improvement contractor by any political subdivision", while "This provision does not affect existing licensing standards in effect on the effective date of this act, with respect to electricians and plumbers and other trades, where licensing is conditioned on requirements of testing or possession of certificates obtained through specific training in electricity or plumbing or other trades."

What are the HVAC licence classes and qualifications in Pennsylvania?

No licence classes, examination or experience requirement: HICPA §4(a) registration requires an application with identity and business details, all prior home-improvement business names and addresses for the previous ten years (§4(a)(2)), disclosure of convictions for home-improvement, fraud, theft or deception offences, bankruptcy petitions and home-improvement civil judgments within ten years (§4(a)(1)(vii)), suspensions or debarments from public home-improvement programs (§4(a)(1)(viii)), out-of-state registrations or licences (§4(a)(1)(iv), §4(b)), and proof of insurance (§4(a)(1)(ix)); the Attorney General states "Registration under HICPA is not an endorsement, recommendation or approval by the Office of Attorney General" of competency or skill; "subcontractors who perform home improvements must register even if they do not enter agreements directly with consumers" (AG FAQ). Fee: the Act 132 text at §5(a) reads "a fee of $50" with "Renewals shall be on a biennial basis"; the Attorney General states "the registration fee has been increased to $100 every two years" citing 72 P.S. §1603-U — Fiscal Code §1603-U, added by Act 45 of 2025 (HB 416, approved November 12, 2025, effective immediately), provides "Notwithstanding section 5(a)" of HICPA, the application or renewal fee "shall be $100. This section shall not apply on or after December 31, 2027"; the PA-HICRS portal states "Registration costs $100 every two years." Registration information must be updated within 30 days of any change, without fee (§4(c)). The registration number must appear "in all advertisements distributed within this Commonwealth and on all contracts, estimates and proposals with owners in this Commonwealth" (§6).

What insurance or bond does Pennsylvania require for an HVAC licence?

HICPA §4(a)(1)(ix): "Proof of liability insurance covering personal injury in an amount not less than $50,000 and insurance covering property damage caused by the work of a home improvement contractor in an amount not less than $50,000"; proof "may include information attested to by an applicant that the applicant is self-insured"; the contract must agree to maintain the same minimums and identify "the current amount of insurance coverage maintained at the time of signing the contract" (§7(a)(11)); PA-HICRS portal: "At least $50,000 personal injury coverage" and "At least $50,000 property damage coverage". No bond requirement in the Act (the only security instrument is the optional $100,000-per-store letter of credit a home improvement retailer may post under §9(10)(ii)).

Does Pennsylvania have HVAC licence reciprocity with other states?

Not stated in this pass — HICPA contains no reciprocity provision; §4(b) requires a contractor "registered or licensed as a home improvement contractor in any other state, or political subdivision thereof" to report that registration and any disciplinary action on the initial and biennial applications.

How often is an HVAC licence renewed in Pennsylvania, and is continuing education required?

Registration valid two years, renewed biennially (HICPA §5(a): "Renewals shall be on a biennial basis"; AG FAQ: registrations "are valid for two years, and must be renewed biennially"; portal: "$100 every two years"). No continuing-education requirement appears in HICPA or on the Attorney General pages read.

What does Pennsylvania require in a residential HVAC contract?

HICPA §7(a): "No home improvement contract shall be valid or enforceable against an owner unless it" is in writing and legible with the contractor's registration number; is signed by the owner and the contractor or salesperson; contains the entire agreement with attached copies of all required notices; the transaction date; the contractor's name, address and telephone number ("a post office box number alone shall not be considered an address"); approximate starting and completion dates; a description of the work, materials and specifications "that cannot be changed without a written change order signed by the owner and the contractor"; the total sales price or a time-and-materials provision with a written initial cost estimate that "may not exceed 10% above the dollar value indicated in the initial cost estimate" without a signed change order; the down payment and special-order-material amounts listed separately; names, addresses and telephone numbers of known subcontractors; the $50,000/$50,000 insurance statement; the bureau's toll-free number; and a notice of the right of rescission. §7(b): the individual signing "shall be permitted to rescind the contract without penalty regardless of where the contract was signed, within three business days of the date of signing" (except emergency work under section 7 of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law); §7(c): a completed copy is delivered at signing without charge; §7(d): an arbitration clause must be in capital letters, 12-point boldface on a separate page with separate signature lines and the stated disclosures or is void on motion; §7(e): the contract is voidable by the owner if it contains a hold-harmless clause, a waiver of code requirements, a confession of judgment, a jury-trial waiver, a wage assignment, a waiver of claims or defenses, a contractor attorney-fee award, a release of collection or repossession liability, a waiver of rights under the Act, or an automatic-renewal provision without the stated opt-out procedure. Prohibited acts, §9: "(9) Demand or receive any payment for a home improvement before the home improvement contract is signed"; (10) for a contract "in which the total price is more than $5,000, receive a deposit in excess of" "one-third of the home improvement contract price" or "one-third of the home improvement contract price plus the cost of special order materials that will be ordered, as designated in the written contract" (a home improvement retailer posting a letter of credit is exempt); (2) refund within ten days of a certified-mail request when no substantial portion of the work has been performed and more than 45 days have elapsed since the written start date; (5) abandon or fail to perform a contract without justification; (6) deviate from plans or specifications in any material respect without a signed, dated written change order with price changes. §8: home improvement fraud is a felony of the third degree where the amount involved exceeds $2,000 and a misdemeanor of the first degree otherwise, one grade higher where the victim is 60 or older, and a felony of the second degree for a second or subsequent offence; §10: a violation of the Act "shall be deemed a violation" of the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law.

Not legal advice. Every row is a dated snapshot of published sources; licensing rules and contract statutes change, and cities and counties add their own permit and licence requirements. Confirm every entry with the named authority and your own counsel before relying on it.

This table is free, open data.

Every row is CC BY 4.0: download the CSV, embed the lookup, or cite the page. It is not part of HVAC OS; the product is the system around work like this — a Notion workspace, working automations and Claude skills for the owner-side work your software doesn't do.

[ ·· ]TAKE SOMETHING WITH YOUFREE · SENT ONCE

Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.

A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete HVAC OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.

SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY