VERTICAL·OS░HVAC MODULE░STATES · KANSAS
GET HVAC OS →

STATE REFERENCE · HVAC LICENSING & CONTRACTS

Kansas: HVAC contractor licensing, reciprocity and contract rules.

In Kansas, HVAC licence: Local only — K.S.A. 12-1542 regulates licensure by “Any county or city requiring the licensure of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors”. Residential contracts: None located for home-improvement contracts in general. Renewal and CE: K.S.A. 12-1542(a) requires licensing counties and cities to adopt rules requiring licence holders to complete “not less than 12 hours biennially or six hours annually of…” Verified 2026-10-14; cites: K.S.A. 12-1540; K.S.A. 12-1541; K.S.A. 12-1542; K.S.A. 12-1543; K.S.A. 50-6,123; K.S.A. 50-636(a) (as cross-referenced in 50-6,123) and others.

VerificationPartially verified — some rules cited· last verified 2026-10-14
[ 01 ]WHAT THIS PAGE ISSCOPE

This page lists what Kansas publishes about licensing an HVAC or mechanical contractor and contracting with homeowners: who issues the licence, whether one is required statewide, the classes and qualifications, insurance or bond minimums, reciprocity with other states, renewal and continuing education, and the state's home-improvement contract statute if it has one.

It is built for owners of residential HVAC companies, especially those hiring across a state line or opening a second territory. Every entry is a snapshot of what the cited source published on the verification date; it is a research starting point, not legal advice.

[ 02 ]THE STATE RULEDATASHEET

Kansas, field by field.

Contractor licensing authority
No state agency licenses HVAC contractors. K.S.A. 12-1540 through 12-1544 (2026 Kansas Statutes, chapter 12, article 15) govern licensure of “mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors” and master and journeyman HVAC mechanics by counties and cities; K.S.A. 12-1542(a) opens: “Any county or city requiring the licensure of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors” and mechanics. The article's index shows parallel local-licensure sections for plumbers (12-1508 to 12-1511), electricians (12-1525 to 12-1528) and building contractors (12-1556 to 12-1558) and no statewide HVAC licence section. Kansas Attorney General consumer pages (ag.ks.gov) returned HTTP 403 to automated clients on 2026-10-14 (two attempts), so no state-agency page confirming the absence of a state licence was read.
HVAC licence required
Local only — K.S.A. 12-1542 regulates licensure by “Any county or city requiring the licensure of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors”; K.S.A. 12-1541 designates the ICC, IAPMO and Prometric examinations, as “in effect on July 1, 2008”, as the standard examinations for determining the qualification of persons seeking licensure as mechanical HVAC contractors and master or journeyman HVAC mechanics; K.S.A. 12-1543 lets a city or county use other examinations, in which case the licence is valid only in that city or county “Except when authorized by reciprocal agreement between the political subdivisions involved”, and lets a city or county adopt local HVAC codes and conduct inspections for reasonable fees. No statewide HVAC licence section appears in K.S.A. chapter 12, article 15. Example read on an official local page: the Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD) requires mechanical journeyman and master trade certificates “to work in Sedgwick County and the City of Wichita”.
Licence classes & qualifications
K.S.A. 12-1540 defines “mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractor” (any person who “undertakes or offers to undertake for another, for hire” the planning, laying out, supervising and installing or making of additions, alterations and repairs to mechanical HVAC systems), “master heating, ventilation and air conditioning mechanic” (qualified to “properly plan, lay out and supervise” installation and repair) and “journeyman heating, ventilation and air conditioning mechanic” (qualified to “install and repair” such systems). K.S.A. 12-1542(a) requires a licensing county or city to adopt rules prescribing a minimum passing score of 75% and a uniform applicant fee; 12-1542(e): a journeyman applicant must document at least two years of field experience under the direct supervision of a journeyman or master certificate holder, with trade-related schooling of at least 930 program hours (with certificate of completion) counting for no more than one year; 12-1542(f): a master applicant needs either two years holding a valid journeyman certificate or four years of field experience. Local example (Sedgwick County MABCD trade-certificate page): mechanical journeyman — “One year of field experience AND one year of mechanical trade school OR Two years of field experience” and a score of 75 percent or better on the ICC K9G Journeyman Mechanical (or IAPMO) examination; mechanical master — “Two years of field experience as a Journeyman OR Four years of field experience” and the ICC K9L/556 Master Mechanical (or IAPMO) examination; $35 certificate fee.
Insurance / bond minimum
Not stated — K.S.A. 12-1540 through 12-1544 set no bond or insurance amount; local contractor-licence ordinances were not read (the one local page read, Sedgwick County's trade-certificate page, concerns individual journeyman and master certificates).
Reciprocity
Within Kansas: K.S.A. 12-1542(b)–(c) make a certificate issued after the required experience and a designated (ICC, IAPMO or Prometric) examination valid proof of competency “in any county or city requiring licensure” without re-examination (a uniform fee may still be charged), and licences must show the testing agency and test name; licences issued on alternative local examinations are valid only in the issuing city or county absent a reciprocal agreement between the political subdivisions (K.S.A. 12-1543). Sedgwick County's MABCD page states that “MABCD does not reciprocate with state testing, only those exams listed below are approved for Sedgwick County” (ICC and IAPMO examinations). Interstate reciprocity: none published (no state board).
Renewal & continuing education
K.S.A. 12-1542(a) requires licensing counties and cities to adopt rules requiring licence holders to complete “not less than 12 hours biennially or six hours annually of continuing education”, with at least six hours biennially (three annually) in code education, from providers that may include local governments, trade associations and schools, and the locality may not limit the number of providers; licences renewed through continuing education must show that it was completed (12-1542(c)); renewal cycles are set by the local licensing body. Local example (Sedgwick County MABCD): “Certificates are good for two years” and “Each year every Journeyman and Master are required to complete three trade specific CEUs AND three general CEUs.”
Home-improvement contract rule
None located for home-improvement contracts in general. Related statutes read: Kansas Roofing Contractor Registration Act — K.S.A. 50-6,123(a)(1): “No person shall engage in the business of or act in the capacity of a roofing contractor within this state” “without having a valid registration certificate as required by this act” (registration with the Attorney General; a person without a certificate may not bring or maintain a claim in court related to roofing work, 50-6,123(a)(2); civil penalty under K.S.A. 50-636(a), 50-6,123(b)); Kansas Consumer Protection Act door-to-door sales — K.S.A. 50-640(a): a consumer may cancel “until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the consumer signs an agreement or offer to purchase”, for sales “with a purchase price of $25 or more” solicited away from the supplier's place of business (50-640(c)(1)), with a completed, detachable “NOTICE OF CANCELLATION” form in duplicate, in 10-point boldface type (50-640(b)(2)). Attorney General consumer pages (ag.ks.gov) returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-14 and were not read.
[ 03 ]SOURCES & VERIFICATIONPRIMARY

Download Kansas's row (CSV) · all 51 states (CSV) · CC BY 4.0, attribute Vertical OS and link to this page.

Where this comes from.

Regulator. No state agency licenses HVAC contractors. K.S.A. 12-1540 through 12-1544 (2026 Kansas Statutes, chapter 12, article 15) govern licensure of “mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors” and master and journeyman HVAC mechanics by counties and cities; K.S.A. 12-1542(a) opens: “Any county or city requiring the licensure of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors” and mechanics. The article's index shows parallel local-licensure sections for plumbers (12-1508 to 12-1511), electricians (12-1525 to 12-1528) and building contractors (12-1556 to 12-1558) and no statewide HVAC licence section. Kansas Attorney General consumer pages (ag.ks.gov) returned HTTP 403 to automated clients on 2026-10-14 (two attempts), so no state-agency page confirming the absence of a state licence was read.

Cited. K.S.A. 12-1540; K.S.A. 12-1541; K.S.A. 12-1542; K.S.A. 12-1543; K.S.A. 50-6,123; K.S.A. 50-636(a) (as cross-referenced in 50-6,123); K.S.A. 50-640 (all read as 2026 Kansas Statutes on kslegislature.gov); Sedgwick County MABCD master/journeyman trade-certificate requirements (local example only)

Status. Partially verified — some rules cited, last verified 2026-10-14. Start with the licensing authority link — it is the primary source. The licence-required and home-improvement-contract rows decide what you can sign and sell, so read both against the cited statute before changing a contract or a service area. The verification status says how much of the row was read at the source.

[ 04 ]BEFORE YOU RELY ON ITCONFIRM

What to confirm.

Confirm the licence class, examination, bond/insurance, fee and renewal rules with the city or county where work will be performed (Sedgwick County/Wichita is one example read); confirm with the Kansas Attorney General (ag.ks.gov returned HTTP 403 to automated clients on 2026-10-14) that no statewide HVAC contractor licence or registration has been enacted, and the current roofing-registration guidance.

[ 05 ]FREQUENTLY ASKEDFAQ

Kansas, answered from the row.

Does Kansas require a state licence for HVAC contractors?

Local only — K.S.A. 12-1542 regulates licensure by “Any county or city requiring the licensure of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors”; K.S.A. 12-1541 designates the ICC, IAPMO and Prometric examinations, as “in effect on July 1, 2008”, as the standard examinations for determining the qualification of persons seeking licensure as mechanical HVAC contractors and master or journeyman HVAC mechanics; K.S.A. 12-1543 lets a city or county use other examinations, in which case the licence is valid only in that city or county “Except when authorized by reciprocal agreement between the political subdivisions involved”, and lets a city or county adopt local HVAC codes and conduct inspections for reasonable fees. No statewide HVAC licence section appears in K.S.A. chapter 12, article 15. Example read on an official local page: the Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department (MABCD) requires mechanical journeyman and master trade certificates “to work in Sedgwick County and the City of Wichita”. — No state agency licenses HVAC contractors. K.S.A. 12-1540 through 12-1544 (2026 Kansas Statutes, chapter 12, article 15) govern licensure of “mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors” and master and journeyman HVAC mechanics by counties and cities; K.S.A. 12-1542(a) opens: “Any county or city requiring the licensure of mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractors” and mechanics. The article's index shows parallel local-licensure sections for plumbers (12-1508 to 12-1511), electricians (12-1525 to 12-1528) and building contractors (12-1556 to 12-1558) and no statewide HVAC licence section. Kansas Attorney General consumer pages (ag.ks.gov) returned HTTP 403 to automated clients on 2026-10-14 (two attempts), so no state-agency page confirming the absence of a state licence was read.

What are the HVAC licence classes and qualifications in Kansas?

K.S.A. 12-1540 defines “mechanical heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractor” (any person who “undertakes or offers to undertake for another, for hire” the planning, laying out, supervising and installing or making of additions, alterations and repairs to mechanical HVAC systems), “master heating, ventilation and air conditioning mechanic” (qualified to “properly plan, lay out and supervise” installation and repair) and “journeyman heating, ventilation and air conditioning mechanic” (qualified to “install and repair” such systems). K.S.A. 12-1542(a) requires a licensing county or city to adopt rules prescribing a minimum passing score of 75% and a uniform applicant fee; 12-1542(e): a journeyman applicant must document at least two years of field experience under the direct supervision of a journeyman or master certificate holder, with trade-related schooling of at least 930 program hours (with certificate of completion) counting for no more than one year; 12-1542(f): a master applicant needs either two years holding a valid journeyman certificate or four years of field experience. Local example (Sedgwick County MABCD trade-certificate page): mechanical journeyman — “One year of field experience AND one year of mechanical trade school OR Two years of field experience” and a score of 75 percent or better on the ICC K9G Journeyman Mechanical (or IAPMO) examination; mechanical master — “Two years of field experience as a Journeyman OR Four years of field experience” and the ICC K9L/556 Master Mechanical (or IAPMO) examination; $35 certificate fee.

What insurance or bond does Kansas require for an HVAC licence?

Not stated — K.S.A. 12-1540 through 12-1544 set no bond or insurance amount; local contractor-licence ordinances were not read (the one local page read, Sedgwick County's trade-certificate page, concerns individual journeyman and master certificates).

Does Kansas have HVAC licence reciprocity with other states?

Within Kansas: K.S.A. 12-1542(b)–(c) make a certificate issued after the required experience and a designated (ICC, IAPMO or Prometric) examination valid proof of competency “in any county or city requiring licensure” without re-examination (a uniform fee may still be charged), and licences must show the testing agency and test name; licences issued on alternative local examinations are valid only in the issuing city or county absent a reciprocal agreement between the political subdivisions (K.S.A. 12-1543). Sedgwick County's MABCD page states that “MABCD does not reciprocate with state testing, only those exams listed below are approved for Sedgwick County” (ICC and IAPMO examinations). Interstate reciprocity: none published (no state board).

How often is an HVAC licence renewed in Kansas, and is continuing education required?

K.S.A. 12-1542(a) requires licensing counties and cities to adopt rules requiring licence holders to complete “not less than 12 hours biennially or six hours annually of continuing education”, with at least six hours biennially (three annually) in code education, from providers that may include local governments, trade associations and schools, and the locality may not limit the number of providers; licences renewed through continuing education must show that it was completed (12-1542(c)); renewal cycles are set by the local licensing body. Local example (Sedgwick County MABCD): “Certificates are good for two years” and “Each year every Journeyman and Master are required to complete three trade specific CEUs AND three general CEUs.”

What does Kansas require in a residential HVAC contract?

None located for home-improvement contracts in general. Related statutes read: Kansas Roofing Contractor Registration Act — K.S.A. 50-6,123(a)(1): “No person shall engage in the business of or act in the capacity of a roofing contractor within this state” “without having a valid registration certificate as required by this act” (registration with the Attorney General; a person without a certificate may not bring or maintain a claim in court related to roofing work, 50-6,123(a)(2); civil penalty under K.S.A. 50-636(a), 50-6,123(b)); Kansas Consumer Protection Act door-to-door sales — K.S.A. 50-640(a): a consumer may cancel “until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the consumer signs an agreement or offer to purchase”, for sales “with a purchase price of $25 or more” solicited away from the supplier's place of business (50-640(c)(1)), with a completed, detachable “NOTICE OF CANCELLATION” form in duplicate, in 10-point boldface type (50-640(b)(2)). Attorney General consumer pages (ag.ks.gov) returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-14 and were not read.

Not legal advice. Every row is a dated snapshot of published sources; licensing rules and contract statutes change, and cities and counties add their own permit and licence requirements. Confirm every entry with the named authority and your own counsel before relying on it.

This table is free, open data.

Every row is CC BY 4.0: download the CSV, embed the lookup, or cite the page. It is not part of HVAC OS; the product is the system around work like this — a Notion workspace, working automations and Claude skills for the owner-side work your software doesn't do.

[ ·· ]TAKE SOMETHING WITH YOUFREE · SENT ONCE

Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.

A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete HVAC OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.

SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY