STATE REFERENCE · HVAC LICENSING & CONTRACTS
Montana: HVAC contractor licensing, reciprocity and contract rules.
In Montana, HVAC licence: Statewide (construction contractor business licence; no HVAC trade licence) — "An individual or business entity may not engage in business as a construction contractor…" Residential contracts: None located for remodeling or repair contracts. Renewal and CE: "Application Fee $70.00 (non-refundable)" and "Renewal Fee: $70.00" (CCL licence information page; the CCL FAQ states "Fees per 24.227.401 are $70 for application and…"). Verified 2026-10-14; cites: MCA 37-45-101; 37-45-102; 37-45-104; 37-45-201; 37-45-203; 37-45-204; 37-45-301; 37-45-302 and others.
This page lists what Montana publishes about licensing an HVAC or mechanical contractor and contracting with homeowners: who issues the licence, whether one is required statewide, the classes and qualifications, insurance or bond minimums, reciprocity with other states, renewal and continuing education, and the state's home-improvement contract statute if it has one.
It is built for owners of residential HVAC companies, especially those hiring across a state line or opening a second territory. Every entry is a snapshot of what the cited source published on the verification date; it is a research starting point, not legal advice.
Montana, field by field.
- Contractor licensing authority
- Montana Department of Labor & Industry, Employment Standards Division — Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program. House Bill 239 (2025), Ch. 644, L. 2025, is "AN ACT REVISING LAWS RELATED TO CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS; TRANSFERRING CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION TO A DEPARTMENT LICENSING PROGRAM", repealing MCA 39-9-201 and 39-9-204 (Sec. 19) and effective January 1, 2026 (Sec. 22), codified at MCA Title 37, chapter 45. The CCL is a department business licence tied to workers' compensation compliance; the Division's board-and-program list includes electricians and plumbers but no HVAC, mechanical or refrigeration program, and MCA 37-45-104(16) exempts electricians and plumbers licensed in Montana as separately licensed trades.
- HVAC licence required
- Statewide (construction contractor business licence; no HVAC trade licence) — "An individual or business entity may not engage in business as a construction contractor without a current license from the department" (MCA 37-45-201(1)); "construction contractor" means a person, firm or corporation that "in the pursuit of an independent business, offers to undertake, undertakes, or submits a bid to construct, alter, repair, add to, subtract from, improve, move, wreck, or demolish for another a building, highway, road, railroad, excavation, or other structure, project, development, or improvement attached to real estate" (37-45-102(1)(a)), without naming HVAC or mechanical work; the chapter does not apply to "an independent contractor who has no employees", who "may voluntarily elect to register under this chapter" (37-45-104(24)), to casual or minor work on one project with an aggregate contract price of less than $2,500 a job (37-45-104(8)), or "to an electrician or plumber, licensed in Montana, operating within the scope of the license" (37-45-104(16)). DLI's FAQ states the licence "specifically targets contractors with employees, as well as corporations and manager-managed LLCs, regardless of employee count."
- Licence classes & qualifications
- One class, the Construction Contractor License; no trade classifications, examination or experience requirement appear in MCA 37-45-201 or in DLI's "Requirements and Application Checklist" (ARM 24.227), which requires a complete application "including all required fees and documentation"; the licence application must include the applicant's social security number, "proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws", the IRS employer identification number if any, and the names and addresses of partners, owner, corporate officers or LLC manager/members and the registered agent (37-45-201(1)).
- Insurance / bond minimum
- Not stated in this pass — no general-liability or surety-bond requirement appears in MCA 37-45-201 or 37-45-203, the application checklist or the CCL licence information page; the licence application requires "proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws" (37-45-201(1)(b)). MCA 37-45-204 refers to "the requirement of a bond with the state of Montana named as obligee" in describing the chapter's provisions as exclusive, but no section read imposes a bond. The Department of Justice consumer page on choosing a contractor: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14.
- Reciprocity
- Not stated in this pass — no reciprocity provision appears in MCA Title 37, chapter 45 or on the CCL pages read; the program page links a "Montana Substantial Equivalency Determinations" document that was not read.
- Renewal & continuing education
- "Application Fee $70.00 (non-refundable)" and "Renewal Fee: $70.00" (CCL licence information page; the CCL FAQ states "Fees per 24.227.401 are $70 for application and renewal"), with a "Late Renewal Fee: $70" in addition to the renewal fee per ARM 24.101.103(2); renewal opens 60 days before the anniversary-date expiration (licence term length not stated on the page); continuing education: "Not Required" (CCL licence information page).
- Home-improvement contract rule
- None located for remodeling or repair contracts. MCA 28-2-2201 ("Residential construction contracts -- disclosure and warranty requirements") applies to "a contract between a general contractor and an owner for the construction of a new residence" and requires a written contract disclosing a current general liability policy and a workers' compensation policy (or independent-contractor-without-employees status), a billing cycle and payment schedule, change-order procedures, the inspections and tests the contractor will perform, and an express warranty valid for at least 1 year from completion. MCA 30-14-504 (personal solicitation sales) lets a buyer cancel "until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the buyer has signed an agreement or offer to purchase" by written notice, where the sale followed a personal solicitation by telephone or in person away from the seller's place of business and the buyer gives consideration "in excess of $25" (30-14-502(3)); a contact the buyer initiated is not a personal solicitation (30-14-502(2)(b)). No deposit cap and no state home-improvement contractor registration located; local governments may not require duplicate registrations, licences or bonds but may levy "a general and nondiscriminatory license fee levied upon all businesses" (37-45-204). The Department of Justice consumer page on choosing a contractor: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14.
Download Montana's row (CSV) · all 51 states (CSV) · CC BY 4.0, attribute Vertical OS and link to this page.
Where this comes from.
Cited. MCA 37-45-101; 37-45-102; 37-45-104; 37-45-201; 37-45-203; 37-45-204; 37-45-301; 37-45-302; 39-9-201 and 39-9-204 (repealed, Sec. 19, Ch. 644, L. 2025); HB 239 (2025), Ch. 644, L. 2025, Secs. 4, 8, 19–22; ARM 24.227 (24.227.401; 24.227.2301); ARM 24.101.103(2); MCA 28-2-2201; 30-14-502; 30-14-504
Status. Verified — cited, last verified 2026-10-14. Start with the licensing authority link — it is the primary source. The licence-required and home-improvement-contract rows decide what you can sign and sell, so read both against the cited statute before changing a contract or a service area. The verification status says how much of the row was read at the source.
What to confirm.
Confirm with the DLI CCL Program (406-444-6880) whether an HVAC business without employees must hold the CCL or may instead hold an Independent Contractor Exemption Certificate ($125 non-refundable fee, MCA 39-71-417), the licence term (not stated on the licence information page), and whether the city where work is performed requires its own mechanical licence (no official page affirmatively states that Montana does not license HVAC trades; the Division's program list has electricians and plumbers but no HVAC program). The Montana Department of Justice consumer page on choosing a contractor (dojmt.gov) returned HTTP 403 on 2026-10-14 and is not verified. Changes seen: the CCL replaced construction contractor registration on January 1, 2026 (HB 239, Ch. 644, L. 2025) and registrations active on December 31, 2025 were converted to the new licence; MCA 37-45-104(24) and 37-45-204 still use the word "register"; the program page lists "Rule Updates for Licensing & Qualifications to Supervise-Effective 8/22/26", whose text describes a 21-day temporary registration for individuals holding an active licence in good standing in another state and does not mention construction contractors; the "Montana Substantial Equivalency Determinations" document linked on the program page was not read.
Montana, answered from the row.
Does Montana require a state licence for HVAC contractors?
Statewide (construction contractor business licence; no HVAC trade licence) — "An individual or business entity may not engage in business as a construction contractor without a current license from the department" (MCA 37-45-201(1)); "construction contractor" means a person, firm or corporation that "in the pursuit of an independent business, offers to undertake, undertakes, or submits a bid to construct, alter, repair, add to, subtract from, improve, move, wreck, or demolish for another a building, highway, road, railroad, excavation, or other structure, project, development, or improvement attached to real estate" (37-45-102(1)(a)), without naming HVAC or mechanical work; the chapter does not apply to "an independent contractor who has no employees", who "may voluntarily elect to register under this chapter" (37-45-104(24)), to casual or minor work on one project with an aggregate contract price of less than $2,500 a job (37-45-104(8)), or "to an electrician or plumber, licensed in Montana, operating within the scope of the license" (37-45-104(16)). DLI's FAQ states the licence "specifically targets contractors with employees, as well as corporations and manager-managed LLCs, regardless of employee count." — Montana Department of Labor & Industry, Employment Standards Division — Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program. House Bill 239 (2025), Ch. 644, L. 2025, is "AN ACT REVISING LAWS RELATED TO CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTORS; TRANSFERRING CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION TO A DEPARTMENT LICENSING PROGRAM", repealing MCA 39-9-201 and 39-9-204 (Sec. 19) and effective January 1, 2026 (Sec. 22), codified at MCA Title 37, chapter 45. The CCL is a department business licence tied to workers' compensation compliance; the Division's board-and-program list includes electricians and plumbers but no HVAC, mechanical or refrigeration program, and MCA 37-45-104(16) exempts electricians and plumbers licensed in Montana as separately licensed trades.
What are the HVAC licence classes and qualifications in Montana?
One class, the Construction Contractor License; no trade classifications, examination or experience requirement appear in MCA 37-45-201 or in DLI's "Requirements and Application Checklist" (ARM 24.227), which requires a complete application "including all required fees and documentation"; the licence application must include the applicant's social security number, "proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws", the IRS employer identification number if any, and the names and addresses of partners, owner, corporate officers or LLC manager/members and the registered agent (37-45-201(1)).
What insurance or bond does Montana require for an HVAC licence?
Not stated in this pass — no general-liability or surety-bond requirement appears in MCA 37-45-201 or 37-45-203, the application checklist or the CCL licence information page; the licence application requires "proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws" (37-45-201(1)(b)). MCA 37-45-204 refers to "the requirement of a bond with the state of Montana named as obligee" in describing the chapter's provisions as exclusive, but no section read imposes a bond. The Department of Justice consumer page on choosing a contractor: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14.
Does Montana have HVAC licence reciprocity with other states?
Not stated in this pass — no reciprocity provision appears in MCA Title 37, chapter 45 or on the CCL pages read; the program page links a "Montana Substantial Equivalency Determinations" document that was not read.
How often is an HVAC licence renewed in Montana, and is continuing education required?
"Application Fee $70.00 (non-refundable)" and "Renewal Fee: $70.00" (CCL licence information page; the CCL FAQ states "Fees per 24.227.401 are $70 for application and renewal"), with a "Late Renewal Fee: $70" in addition to the renewal fee per ARM 24.101.103(2); renewal opens 60 days before the anniversary-date expiration (licence term length not stated on the page); continuing education: "Not Required" (CCL licence information page).
What does Montana require in a residential HVAC contract?
None located for remodeling or repair contracts. MCA 28-2-2201 ("Residential construction contracts -- disclosure and warranty requirements") applies to "a contract between a general contractor and an owner for the construction of a new residence" and requires a written contract disclosing a current general liability policy and a workers' compensation policy (or independent-contractor-without-employees status), a billing cycle and payment schedule, change-order procedures, the inspections and tests the contractor will perform, and an express warranty valid for at least 1 year from completion. MCA 30-14-504 (personal solicitation sales) lets a buyer cancel "until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the buyer has signed an agreement or offer to purchase" by written notice, where the sale followed a personal solicitation by telephone or in person away from the seller's place of business and the buyer gives consideration "in excess of $25" (30-14-502(3)); a contact the buyer initiated is not a personal solicitation (30-14-502(2)(b)). No deposit cap and no state home-improvement contractor registration located; local governments may not require duplicate registrations, licences or bonds but may levy "a general and nondiscriminatory license fee levied upon all businesses" (37-45-204). The Department of Justice consumer page on choosing a contractor: Not verified — source unreachable on 2026-10-14.
Not legal advice. Every row is a dated snapshot of published sources; licensing rules and contract statutes change, and cities and counties add their own permit and licence requirements. Confirm every entry with the named authority and your own counsel before relying on it.
This table is free, open data.
Every row is CC BY 4.0: download the CSV, embed the lookup, or cite the page. It is not part of HVAC OS; the product is the system around work like this — a Notion workspace, working automations and Claude skills for the owner-side work your software doesn't do.
Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.
A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete HVAC OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.
SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY