VERTICAL·OS░HVAC MODULE░STATES · NORTH DAKOTA
GET HVAC OS →

STATE REFERENCE · HVAC LICENSING & CONTRACTS

North Dakota: HVAC contractor licensing, reciprocity and contract rules.

In North Dakota, HVAC licence: Statewide above threshold — the state contractor licence, not a trade-specific licence. Residential contracts: No home-improvement contract statute located. Renewal and CE: Annual. The contractor year is "March second through March first" (43-07-01(2)). Verified 2026-10-14; cites: N.D.C.C. 43-07-01(1), (2), (5); 43-07-02(1)-(5); 43-07-04(1), (3); 43-07-07(1)-(3); 43-07-08; 43-07-09; 43-07-10(1), (3) and others.

VerificationVerified — cited· last verified 2026-10-14
[ 01 ]WHAT THIS PAGE ISSCOPE

This page lists what North Dakota publishes about licensing an HVAC or mechanical contractor and contracting with homeowners: who issues the licence, whether one is required statewide, the classes and qualifications, insurance or bond minimums, reciprocity with other states, renewal and continuing education, and the state's home-improvement contract statute if it has one.

It is built for owners of residential HVAC companies, especially those hiring across a state line or opening a second territory. Every entry is a snapshot of what the cited source published on the verification date; it is a research starting point, not legal advice.

[ 02 ]THE STATE RULEDATASHEET

North Dakota, field by field.

Contractor licensing authority
North Dakota Secretary of State — the registrar under N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07 ("'Registrar' means the secretary of state", 43-07-01(5)) for the state contractor licence. The Secretary of State's Contractors page lists the electrical licence (ND State Electrical Board), plumbing licence (ND State Plumbing Board), asbestos-abatement licence (ND Department of Environmental Quality) and transient-merchant licence (ND Office of the Attorney General) as licences that "are not part of the contractor license issued by the Secretary of State"; it does not mention HVAC, mechanical, heating or air conditioning.
HVAC licence required
Statewide above threshold — the state contractor licence, not a trade-specific licence. N.D.C.C. 43-07-02(1): "A person may not engage in the business nor act in the capacity of a contractor within this state when the cost, value, or price per job exceeds the sum of four thousand dollars" without a licence; "contractor" means any person "engaged in the business of construction, repair, alteration, dismantling, or demolition of" buildings and "every other type of structure, project, development, or improvement coming within the definition of real or personal property", including subcontractors and nonresident contractors (43-07-01(1)). Secretary of State Contractors page: "When the cost, value, or price of a job exceeds $4,000, the person doing the work must be licensed as a contractor in North Dakota". The exceptions in 43-07-08 cover government representatives and suppliers of products not affixed to real property; they contain no trade-based exemption. Official pages read on the question of a trade licence: the Secretary of State's Contractors page names electrical, plumbing, asbestos-abatement and transient-merchant licences as the separate licences; the Secretary of State's Licensing and Registration index lists contractors, home inspectors, lobbyists, athlete agents, professional employer organizations, professional fundraisers and combative sports; the State Plumbing Board site offers "Plumbing, Sewer and Water, or Water Conditioning" licences and backflow-tester certification. None of these pages, and no section of N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07, names a heating, air-conditioning or mechanical trade licence. 43-07-14(1)(e) makes "Engaging in work without any trade or professional license as required for the work pursuant to local, state, or federal law" a ground for complaint against a licensee, and 43-07-24 requires a contractor to supply its licence number when applying for a building permit.
Licence classes & qualifications
Four classes by single-project value (N.D.C.C. 43-07-07(1)): Class A — "no limitation as to the value of any single contract project"; Class B — no single project "in excess of five hundred thousand dollars"; Class C — not in excess of $300,000; Class D — not in excess of $100,000. Application fees $450 / $300 / $225 / $100 and renewal fees $90 / $60 / $45 / $30 (43-07-07(2)-(3); same amounts on the Secretary of State page). An applicant "eighteen years of age or older" files an application under oath "containing a statement of the applicant's experience and qualifications as a contractor" (43-07-04(1)); the registrar may require criminal history record information at the applicant's expense (43-07-04(1)); no examination or minimum experience appears in ch. 43-07 or on the Secretary of State page. An initial licence runs to the end of the contractor year ending March 1, except that a licence issued in January or February is valid until March 1 of the following year (43-07-09). Unlicensed contracting is a class A misdemeanor, with a civil penalty of up to three times the licence fee in 43-07-07 (43-07-02(2)).
Insurance / bond minimum
Liability insurance certificate required, no minimum amount published: N.D.C.C. 43-07-04(1) — "A copy of a certificate of liability insurance must be filed with the application" together with a statement from North Dakota Workforce Safety and Insurance that coverage is secured; at renewal the applicant includes "a copy of a certificate of liability insurance naming the registrar as the certificate holder" (43-07-10(1)); failure to maintain the coverage makes the licence not in good standing (43-07-04(3)(a)). The Secretary of State page requires the policy in the same name as the licence with the Secretary of State listed as certificate holder and states no coverage amount. Contractor's bond: 43-07-11 "Repealed by S.L. 1995, ch. 397, § 9"; the Secretary of State page mentions no bond.
Reciprocity
Not stated in this pass — N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07 and the Secretary of State Contractors page contain no reciprocity or endorsement provision for the contractor licence; a nonresident applicant "appoints the registrar as the applicant's true and lawful agent" for service of process (43-07-19).
Renewal & continuing education
Annual. The contractor year is "March second through March first" (43-07-01(2)); the renewal application "must be made to the registrar before March second of each year" (43-07-10(3)) with a list of the prior calendar year's projects "over the amount of fifty thousand dollars", a certificate of liability insurance and a certification that payroll taxes, workforce safety and insurance premiums and unemployment insurance premiums are paid (43-07-10(1)); a contractor who misses the March 1 deadline "is not in good standing" and "is deemed to be unlicensed", and "has until June first to renew by paying a penalty fee of fifty dollars" plus the renewal fee; "After the June first deadline any licenses not renewed are expired" (43-07-10(3)). Secretary of State page: renew "on or before March 1 of each year". No continuing-education requirement appears in ch. 43-07 or on the Secretary of State page.
Home-improvement contract rule
No home-improvement contract statute located; related provisions: N.D.C.C. 43-07-02(3)-(5) (construction fraud — receiving payment by deception, failing to pay suppliers for materials, or willful abandonment, which arises when a contractor fails substantially to commence work within sixty days of a written start date or ninety days of the contract date, or to complete within ninety days of a written completion date or 180 days of the contract date; payment under $10,000 is a class C felony, over $10,000 to $50,000 a class B felony, over $50,000 a class A felony); 43-07-14(1) complaint grounds include abandonment after a deposit and "Failure to refund fully the contracting party's advance payment" after a presumption of abandonment. 43-07-26: before any non-emergency repair or warranty action on a one- or two-family dwelling "or an improvement with a value exceeding two thousand dollars to a dwelling", the owner gives the contractor written notice of the defect within six months after knowledge of it, and "The contractor shall provide the purchaser or owner written notice of the requirements of this section" at completion of the improvement. Home solicitation sales, N.D.C.C. ch. 51-18: "the buyer may cancel a personal solicitation sale until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the buyer signs an agreement", extended to the fifteenth business day for a buyer sixty-five or older on a product over $50, and "the seller shall orally inform the buyer, at the time the transaction is entered into, of the buyer's right to cancel" (51-18-02(1)); a personal solicitation sale is one solicited "by telephone or in person" where the buyer's agreement is made away from the seller's place of business, excluding sales made "pursuant to prior negotiations between the parties at a business establishment at a fixed location" (51-18-01(3)); "No agreement of the buyer in a personal solicitation sale is enforceable unless it is in writing, dated, contains the signature of the buyer, and contains a conspicuous notice" in the statutory NOTICE TO BUYER form with an attached Notice of Cancellation (51-18-04). Attorney General's Hiring a Contractor page: "Contractors who do a job valued at $4,000 or more must be licensed by the Secretary of State"; a contractor "not originally from the local area also must have a Transient Merchant License issued by the Attorney General"; get a written contract and do not make full payment until the work is complete; it cites no statute.
[ 03 ]SOURCES & VERIFICATIONPRIMARY

Download North Dakota's row (CSV) · all 51 states (CSV) · CC BY 4.0, attribute Vertical OS and link to this page.

Where this comes from.

Regulator. North Dakota Secretary of State — the registrar under N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07 ("'Registrar' means the secretary of state", 43-07-01(5)) for the state contractor licence. The Secretary of State's Contractors page lists the electrical licence (ND State Electrical Board), plumbing licence (ND State Plumbing Board), asbestos-abatement licence (ND Department of Environmental Quality) and transient-merchant licence (ND Office of the Attorney General) as licences that "are not part of the contractor license issued by the Secretary of State"; it does not mention HVAC, mechanical, heating or air conditioning.

Cited. N.D.C.C. 43-07-01(1), (2), (5); 43-07-02(1)-(5); 43-07-04(1), (3); 43-07-07(1)-(3); 43-07-08; 43-07-09; 43-07-10(1), (3); 43-07-11 (repealed); 43-07-14(1); 43-07-19; 43-07-24; 43-07-26; N.D.C.C. 51-18-01(3); 51-18-02(1); 51-18-04

Status. Verified — cited, last verified 2026-10-14. Start with the licensing authority link — it is the primary source. The licence-required and home-improvement-contract rows decide what you can sign and sell, so read both against the cited statute before changing a contract or a service area. The verification status says how much of the row was read at the source.

[ 04 ]BEFORE YOU RELY ON ITCONFIRM

What to confirm.

Confirm with the city or county where the work is done whether a local mechanical or HVAC contractor licence or permit registration applies — no state page read names a heating, air-conditioning or mechanical trade licence, and 43-07-14(1)(e) treats work without a locally required trade licence as a complaint ground. Confirm with the Secretary of State whether a minimum liability-insurance amount is enforced (none is published) and the current late-renewal fee (the Secretary of State page mentions a late filing fee without an amount; 43-07-10(3) sets $50). The Attorney General's Hiring a Contractor page says contractors who do a job "valued at $4,000 or more" must be licensed, while N.D.C.C. 43-07-02(1) and the Secretary of State page set the trigger where the job "exceeds" $4,000. No pending 2025–2026 change was seen on the pages read.

[ 05 ]FREQUENTLY ASKEDFAQ

North Dakota, answered from the row.

Does North Dakota require a state licence for HVAC contractors?

Statewide above threshold — the state contractor licence, not a trade-specific licence. N.D.C.C. 43-07-02(1): "A person may not engage in the business nor act in the capacity of a contractor within this state when the cost, value, or price per job exceeds the sum of four thousand dollars" without a licence; "contractor" means any person "engaged in the business of construction, repair, alteration, dismantling, or demolition of" buildings and "every other type of structure, project, development, or improvement coming within the definition of real or personal property", including subcontractors and nonresident contractors (43-07-01(1)). Secretary of State Contractors page: "When the cost, value, or price of a job exceeds $4,000, the person doing the work must be licensed as a contractor in North Dakota". The exceptions in 43-07-08 cover government representatives and suppliers of products not affixed to real property; they contain no trade-based exemption. Official pages read on the question of a trade licence: the Secretary of State's Contractors page names electrical, plumbing, asbestos-abatement and transient-merchant licences as the separate licences; the Secretary of State's Licensing and Registration index lists contractors, home inspectors, lobbyists, athlete agents, professional employer organizations, professional fundraisers and combative sports; the State Plumbing Board site offers "Plumbing, Sewer and Water, or Water Conditioning" licences and backflow-tester certification. None of these pages, and no section of N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07, names a heating, air-conditioning or mechanical trade licence. 43-07-14(1)(e) makes "Engaging in work without any trade or professional license as required for the work pursuant to local, state, or federal law" a ground for complaint against a licensee, and 43-07-24 requires a contractor to supply its licence number when applying for a building permit. — North Dakota Secretary of State — the registrar under N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07 ("'Registrar' means the secretary of state", 43-07-01(5)) for the state contractor licence. The Secretary of State's Contractors page lists the electrical licence (ND State Electrical Board), plumbing licence (ND State Plumbing Board), asbestos-abatement licence (ND Department of Environmental Quality) and transient-merchant licence (ND Office of the Attorney General) as licences that "are not part of the contractor license issued by the Secretary of State"; it does not mention HVAC, mechanical, heating or air conditioning.

What are the HVAC licence classes and qualifications in North Dakota?

Four classes by single-project value (N.D.C.C. 43-07-07(1)): Class A — "no limitation as to the value of any single contract project"; Class B — no single project "in excess of five hundred thousand dollars"; Class C — not in excess of $300,000; Class D — not in excess of $100,000. Application fees $450 / $300 / $225 / $100 and renewal fees $90 / $60 / $45 / $30 (43-07-07(2)-(3); same amounts on the Secretary of State page). An applicant "eighteen years of age or older" files an application under oath "containing a statement of the applicant's experience and qualifications as a contractor" (43-07-04(1)); the registrar may require criminal history record information at the applicant's expense (43-07-04(1)); no examination or minimum experience appears in ch. 43-07 or on the Secretary of State page. An initial licence runs to the end of the contractor year ending March 1, except that a licence issued in January or February is valid until March 1 of the following year (43-07-09). Unlicensed contracting is a class A misdemeanor, with a civil penalty of up to three times the licence fee in 43-07-07 (43-07-02(2)).

What insurance or bond does North Dakota require for an HVAC licence?

Liability insurance certificate required, no minimum amount published: N.D.C.C. 43-07-04(1) — "A copy of a certificate of liability insurance must be filed with the application" together with a statement from North Dakota Workforce Safety and Insurance that coverage is secured; at renewal the applicant includes "a copy of a certificate of liability insurance naming the registrar as the certificate holder" (43-07-10(1)); failure to maintain the coverage makes the licence not in good standing (43-07-04(3)(a)). The Secretary of State page requires the policy in the same name as the licence with the Secretary of State listed as certificate holder and states no coverage amount. Contractor's bond: 43-07-11 "Repealed by S.L. 1995, ch. 397, § 9"; the Secretary of State page mentions no bond.

Does North Dakota have HVAC licence reciprocity with other states?

Not stated in this pass — N.D.C.C. ch. 43-07 and the Secretary of State Contractors page contain no reciprocity or endorsement provision for the contractor licence; a nonresident applicant "appoints the registrar as the applicant's true and lawful agent" for service of process (43-07-19).

How often is an HVAC licence renewed in North Dakota, and is continuing education required?

Annual. The contractor year is "March second through March first" (43-07-01(2)); the renewal application "must be made to the registrar before March second of each year" (43-07-10(3)) with a list of the prior calendar year's projects "over the amount of fifty thousand dollars", a certificate of liability insurance and a certification that payroll taxes, workforce safety and insurance premiums and unemployment insurance premiums are paid (43-07-10(1)); a contractor who misses the March 1 deadline "is not in good standing" and "is deemed to be unlicensed", and "has until June first to renew by paying a penalty fee of fifty dollars" plus the renewal fee; "After the June first deadline any licenses not renewed are expired" (43-07-10(3)). Secretary of State page: renew "on or before March 1 of each year". No continuing-education requirement appears in ch. 43-07 or on the Secretary of State page.

What does North Dakota require in a residential HVAC contract?

No home-improvement contract statute located; related provisions: N.D.C.C. 43-07-02(3)-(5) (construction fraud — receiving payment by deception, failing to pay suppliers for materials, or willful abandonment, which arises when a contractor fails substantially to commence work within sixty days of a written start date or ninety days of the contract date, or to complete within ninety days of a written completion date or 180 days of the contract date; payment under $10,000 is a class C felony, over $10,000 to $50,000 a class B felony, over $50,000 a class A felony); 43-07-14(1) complaint grounds include abandonment after a deposit and "Failure to refund fully the contracting party's advance payment" after a presumption of abandonment. 43-07-26: before any non-emergency repair or warranty action on a one- or two-family dwelling "or an improvement with a value exceeding two thousand dollars to a dwelling", the owner gives the contractor written notice of the defect within six months after knowledge of it, and "The contractor shall provide the purchaser or owner written notice of the requirements of this section" at completion of the improvement. Home solicitation sales, N.D.C.C. ch. 51-18: "the buyer may cancel a personal solicitation sale until midnight of the third business day after the day on which the buyer signs an agreement", extended to the fifteenth business day for a buyer sixty-five or older on a product over $50, and "the seller shall orally inform the buyer, at the time the transaction is entered into, of the buyer's right to cancel" (51-18-02(1)); a personal solicitation sale is one solicited "by telephone or in person" where the buyer's agreement is made away from the seller's place of business, excluding sales made "pursuant to prior negotiations between the parties at a business establishment at a fixed location" (51-18-01(3)); "No agreement of the buyer in a personal solicitation sale is enforceable unless it is in writing, dated, contains the signature of the buyer, and contains a conspicuous notice" in the statutory NOTICE TO BUYER form with an attached Notice of Cancellation (51-18-04). Attorney General's Hiring a Contractor page: "Contractors who do a job valued at $4,000 or more must be licensed by the Secretary of State"; a contractor "not originally from the local area also must have a Transient Merchant License issued by the Attorney General"; get a written contract and do not make full payment until the work is complete; it cites no statute.

Not legal advice. Every row is a dated snapshot of published sources; licensing rules and contract statutes change, and cities and counties add their own permit and licence requirements. Confirm every entry with the named authority and your own counsel before relying on it.

This table is free, open data.

Every row is CC BY 4.0: download the CSV, embed the lookup, or cite the page. It is not part of HVAC OS; the product is the system around work like this — a Notion workspace, working automations and Claude skills for the owner-side work your software doesn't do.

[ ·· ]TAKE SOMETHING WITH YOUFREE · SENT ONCE

Get the operations audit and a free sample skill.

A one-page diagnostic of the three biggest leaks in your operating week, plus one complete HVAC OS skill you can run today with nothing else installed.

SENT ONCE · UNSUBSCRIBE IN ONE CLICK · NO CARD · PRIVACY